Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days, #1)Angelfall by Susan Ee

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

HOLY SCHNIKES! Wow.

Penryn isn’t some seventeen year old with problems, like: who is going to take her to the prom, and why doesn’t she have an iPhone. She’s got problems along the lines of: did my schizophrenic mother take her meds today, and I could really use my dad’s help with my wheelchair-bound little sister in this third story apartment-but he’s abandoned us. And that’s BEFORE the angel apocalypse.

Even after all that, Penryn sees the humanity in her enemy, the one that was cut down by other enemies, the angels. Not at first, no, but once she decides to use his severed wings as bait to find the ‘nest’ of angels that took her little sister. Then, she begins to see what the angels have taken from him as well, and together they work their way towards the aerie. Guarded feelings do emerge, and since the story is told from Penryn’s POV, we never fully learn Raffe’s misgivings.

Disclaimer: I don’t read strictly horror, same as I don’t read strictly romance.

Of course, you can’t really have an apocalypse without some horrific things going on, but wow. The author flashes horrific scenes throughout the first two-thirds of the book, but that still doesn’t prepare you for the last third.

Someone needs to talk to goodreads about half-stars, because this one would certainly get 4.5. I rarely read books quickly, but this one was DEVOURED. I’m glad I have the next one already and will begin reading it ASAP.

View all my reviews

