The Cuckoo's Calling
The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I really wish that I could have an unbiased opinion about this book, rather, the book written by THIS author. It’s impossible. I would’ve liked to discover and read Robert Galbraith’s book, but I read JK Rowling’s book, so my glasses are naturally rose-colored.

I loved it. I loved the cursing. I loved that Cormoran was chubby. I loved that Robin loved working for Cormoran despite her fiancée’s wishes because she was GOOD at it and she LOVED it, not because the money was good or there was any opportunity for advancement. I loved the whole story and how Lula’s family paralleled Cormoran’s in a way. I loved the whodunit, and had no idea until the very end when it all fell into place perfectly.

I guessed, of course. I thought they were perfect guesses, too, the one where the author thinks they’ve pulled one over on you but you saw right through it. Then again, I started to guess that everyone had done it, just so I could guess right. Wrong.

Perfect. I’m probably going to listen to The Silkworm next.

View all my reviews

