Dreams of Gods & Monsters
Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini Taylor
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Warning: this review is tinged with bitterness. Also, I waited for others to finish the book first, but I’m starting to forget things, so…

Okay, Laini, we get it. These two very attractive people are destined for each other, but the fates of two worlds is at stake. People are conspiring against them, they are conspiring against themselves (for what beautiful person should ever be truly happy?), and lets throw some new stuff in for good measure. Because there never is a true ending to a war story, even if the war is over.

Okay, I’m going to say it. It’s a crock of shit that Karou goes to Akiva’s little hut by the sea at the end. Neither of them have a history there, all they have is a blanket. The Kirin Caves is where they belong. Dammit.

The writing is good. Of course the writing is good or I’d have stopped reading it because I knew I was being cheated out of a good ending. I can’t even go back and reread the series because of how it ends. Such is disappointment.

View all my reviews

