The Death Class: A True Story About Life
The Death Class: A True Story About Life by Erika Hayasaki
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Ms. Hayasaki has to be a fantastic journalist to stay with this story the way she did. It really is a wonderful subject. Unfortunately, her writing was such that the narrative was overwhelmed by tell. There wasn’t enough show. This is how journalists are taught though. Squeeze as many facts as you can in the first couple of sentences and throw in heart later, if there is any space left (not filled by advertising).

Dr. Bowe is what originally attracted me to the story and there are several elements that I would like to revisit. I wanted to like this book so much more than I actually did. I know that is because I need a better relationship with death.

View all my reviews

