It’s one of the first things I learned in the publishing program: support your local independent bookstore. If you can’t buy from the independent bookstore, buy directly from the publisher. Try addall.com. Anything but Amazon.

I didn’t need Amazon. Or their Kindle. I had a Nook and a local used bookstore I could buy from if I needed a hardcopy. But then I had to buy 12 books for spring term and decided that it would be efficient to buy them from Amazon. So I did. Free shipping! Yay!

Then summer semester came and I needed a book. Just one book. Couldn’t find it at the local bookstore and didn’t want to buy more than one book for the free shipping. So I asked my boss, an Amazon devotee and Prime member, if he wouldn’t mind ordering it for me so I could get his free two-day shipping. Just one book. No harm, no fowl. Right?

Interestingly enough, the book I bought, Merchants of Culture, has a section on the future of publishing and how shipping terms can be easily manipulated by Amazon in order for it to get the best terms possible. Also, to sell more Kindles from the outset, it lowered the price of e-books to below book value! Jerks! Assholes!

Knowing all this, being as learned as I think I am, I still fell for it. I held out as long as I could. I swear I did.

I folded and bought my Kindle last week. Best Buy was having a sale on the 4th generation e-ink version so I went and bought one ($10 off). When they said they were out of that one and it was being discontinued, I still bought the next version (the ad version). My justification was that, being in the publishing industry, I may need to double-check the formatting on any e-books I produce. Also, it would help with price comparisons. I could get the best price on an e-book if I knew what Kindle’s price was and blah blah blah.

When I got home and connected my amazon.com account to my Kindle, I was immediately bombarded with marketing. And I fell for it all. “If you join Prime as a student,  you can get it for half-price!” So I joined AmazonStudent and was instantly disappointed that it didn’t include the Kindle Owner’s Lending Library. I mean, how else was I going to stick it to The Man (meaning Amazon) if I wasn’t going to read their stuff for free? And what about Prime Instant Videos? Sure, I didn’t have time to watch TV or movies, but I wanted it for my family. So I caved and got regular Amazon Prime within a matter of minutes.

Oh and it doesn’t stop there. I wish it did, but it does not.

I also fell down the Audible membership hole. I’d had one in the past, under my husband’s e-mail address, and I liked it. But now you can connect your Audible account to your Kindle and it will keep track of where you are if you buy both the e-book and the audiobook, which I never intend to do.

I’ve bought one Kindle book since I purchased the Kindle, and it turned out to be cheaper than both the Nook book and the Amazon paperback. I was alarmed at how easy it was to buy on the Kindle. No “Are you sure?” button to push or password to enter. Just boom, bought.

In retrospect, I should’ve just bought a used Kindle from someone in town. Amazon wouldn’t see that money twice. Blurgh. Buyer’s remorse.

On a positive note, I did not buy a Kindle cover/case from Amazon. I bought it from Wal-Mart online. Because I hear they’re hurting for business. Take that, Amazon.

