I promised myself that I would only talk about books on this blog but I have to mention a movie adapted from a book. Silver Linings Playbook, the novel, was written by Matthew Quick. While I didn’t review the book in Goodreads, I did rate it 5 stars out of 5. The screenplay was adapted by David O. Russell, who also directed the movie.

Silver Linings Playbook, the movie, has done something that I don’t ever remember seeing in my many years of watching the Academy Awards. It has been nominated for each of the Big Six Awards: Best Picture, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress and Best Director.

It has a lot of competition, going up against Lincoln and Les Miserables, but it’s one of those situations that the number of nominations (or the categories, as the case may be) makes for an interesting year.

While I have seen Lincoln, I haven’t seen Silver Linings Playbook. In fact, it’s not showing anywhere in the state. There is a little over a month before the Oscars are given out, so I hope one of the local theatres get wise.

