A friend tipped me off to an internship with the company she is an editorial assistant for. She let me know that there might be an opening in the YA department and she gave me the email address of the executive editorial director.

I am fully aware of how competitive the publishing industry is and I’m not just talking authors either. Internships can go quickly and it is beneficial to actually be in the same city as the publishing house. That’s not the case with me though. I’m as remote as remote can possibly be.

I wish I would’ve put in my cover letter just how old and mature and responsible I am. Maybe that would’ve helped. It did help to have a name to drop. We’ll see what happens. I won’t start the internship until May or June and while that seems like plenty of time, this is just the first application of many.

